Why does everyone think cats are better then dogs? I am not trying to talk down Dogs. I love them and hope to have one someday. However, cats ARE better then them.
I have compiled the following argument.
1. Cats poop in just a litter box. I know some people think this is disgusting. However, I think stepping on poop in you back yard is disgusting.
2. Vacations. You put out enough food/water for a week and that's all you do. You leave, go on vacation.
Dogs you have to drive to a kennel and drop them off. Then you pay a good chunk of $ for someone to watch them. After being exhausted from travel you have to drive back and pick them. They smell like a kennel and usually have picked up a barking habit.
3. Overall cost. Cats eat less and their vet visits are cheaper.
4. Dogs are good companions/loyal. I will give you that one, but my cat is my best buddy. She greets me when I get home and she snuggles with me.
5. Dogs are fun to exercise with/play with. That's fine and dandy and I agree with you there. That is until you have to go out in a hurricane or blizzard to play with the dog/let it poop in the yard to only step in it later.
6. Cats are more useful as they catch things like mice. Dogs just chase squirrels outside. I am glad when we get a mouse my cat captures and kills it!
7. Dogs are better at scaring off burglars. Very true! You win one!
That is all. My husband inspired this blog. Love you Michael!
Hahahaha! Although I can't argue with many of your points, I still would rather have dogs. Here's another point to help you though...if someone is scared of dogs, you may have to put them away when certain people come over. I HATE doing this and wish we never started it, but I'm too considerate of others. And it is a real pain when it is family.
ReplyDeleteI HATE picking up their poop. I'm pretty good at keeping up with it, but it is a pain. I'm always worried I missed some and we or a visitor will step in it.
We only take Ivey to the kennel b/c my parents will watch Chachi. Our kennel is the best and they spray her before she leaves so she actually smells good.
Since we've lived here Ivey has eaten a small rabbit and a mole. It was disgusting!
Oh, and when it gets muddy out! That just sucks if you have carpeting!
But I still love them like family and want more when they pass:(
Haha! Just saw you commented. Maybe I should read my own blog, lol! Dogs do rock! I am trying to talk myself out of one since Michael says we can't have one! Maybe I should adopt Cha-Chi! (sp?)
ReplyDelete