Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Magnolia and Kindergarten

I realized I forgot to blog about a monumental occasion that occured in Magnolia's life.  She is now a Kindergartner!  While she told me at first that she was, "not a fan of kindergarten".  She really has come around to loving it.  I attribute the adjustment to the fact that she had an incredible experience at Bethany UCC Preschool with two amazing teachers and classmates that stayed with her for two whole years!  She was also upset because she did not get snack and there was no art class.  Needless to say she did get over this and is thriving.  She is making new friends, really enjoying her teacher, Ms. Barthold and loves to learn.  Her first day of school was very interesting.  Due to a Hurricane on Saturday night we were actually staying with my parents as we had no power.  This means we got to get ready at Gi-Gi and Pop-Pop's house and then drive over to our
house to meet her school bus.  Hopefully her future first days of school will be a lot less eventful.  Here are a few pictures of my beautiful princesses first day of Kindergarten!!!









Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Raining Inspiration

I know a lot of people are sick of the rain in PA, but I for one am not.  There is just something so inspiring about it to me.  The world slows down a little, (not as much as when it snows though), you get a new musical instrument added to the soundtrack of your life.  Not to mention there is nothing more fun to do then jump in the puddles with your kids when the rain stops.  I also can't help but think about the places that do not have any rain.  They suffer from wildfires and are dying because of lack of water.  Yep, I think I will keep the rain.

Speaking of inspiring, we had the opportunity to go visit my good friend Lauren Rinaldi at her art studio this past Sunday.  She is in a building with many other artists and they all participated in the Philadelphia Open Studio Tours.  It was not only amazing to see her beautiful work, but to see all of the other art too.  We saw everything from landscape paintings, photography, knitting, upholstery to some things we just weren't quite sure what they were.  The kids had a great time and it was great to catch up with an old friend.  Feel free to check out her work, http://laurenrinaldi.tumblr.com/!


We have also been having a lot of fun so far this Fall.  We have painted pumpkins,


played in the leaves a.k.a. pine needles


 and on Thursday are going on a hayride at Brecknock Orchard.

I can't forget to welcome to the world Jason Scott O'Grady Junior!  This happy, healthy,
bouncing baby boy was born to Katherine and Jason on October 5th.  Words can not
describe how happy we are for the O'Grady's and that we are an Aunt/Uncle/Cousin's!!!!

Sunday, October 9, 2011

Family Update


Family Update

Well we are officially into the swing of our new schedules.  While it is super busy, we all seem to be thriving.  Our minister gave a really interesting sermon a few Sunday's ago about realizing the size of your plate and if it has to many things on it.  It was so wonderful for both Michael and I to hear this.  He tends to get upset thinking my plate is too full and I tend to get annoyed feeling he is not doing enough.  What we realized while listening is that both our plates are full, Michael just has a smaller size plate and I tend to have a larger that  can manage more!  Wanted to share this tidbit as it has truly helped us understand one another in marriage so much more.

Michael has started taking classes at Penn State Berks.  Right now he has a Public Speaking class and a Math Class.  He was hesitant at first, but is doing awesome and has A's in both classes!  Needless to say we are all super proud of him.  He is also doing a great job of balancing working full-time, and being a part-time student, father and husband.

Magnolia is officially into her Kindergarten schedule.  While she is not in love with Kindergarten she is having a nice time and learning a lot.  She had such a great preschool experience for two years that we knew we would have difficulty making the transition.  She had the same two teachers, room and classmates for two years.  She is learning all of her sight words and can even read a little bit!  She is still amazing me with her artwork, plays and magic shows she is constantly doing.  When she isn't at school she is a Daisy in Girl Scouts, soccer player on Wed evening and Saturday mornings as well as taking swim lessons at the Rec.  She wanted to add dance/gymnastics yet, but I told her she was good on activities for now!  She is definitely a future fashionista as her goal was not to wear the same outfit twice to school and so far she has succeed.  Magnolia just roller skated for the first time at  a rink last Sunday with her fellow girl scout's and best friend Sophia.  She had a blast and can not wait to go back!



Maxwell is also in preschool now.  KB Gymnastics has a great program where he goes one day a week from 9-11 and does an hour of gymnastics and an hour of learning.  His best friend Jules is in his class and he is thriving!  Through Maxwell  I am realizing it is so beneficial being the younger sibling as far as learning goes!  While working with him the other day I realized he knows all his colors, shapes, letters and numbers.  He can almost count to 20! Maxwell is also taking a Mommy and Me swim class at the Rec and is enjoying himself.  Both my kids love the water.  Since I am coaching soccer on practice days Maxwell gets to practice with us and scrimmage.  Just this past week he scored 6 goals during scrimmage.  It was amazing, he dribbled around the 5 & 6 year olds like they weren't even there!  I am excited to see where his athletic/academia career just may go!


On to me, I have been really enjoying our Ephrata Rec membership.  I love taking spin, yoga, Pilates and Body Flex.  I was a little nervous about having Maxwell in daycare there, but he is loving it and has lots of friends.  On Monday's he even gets to take his own Aerobikids class while I am in Yoga.  I am loving finding the balance of being a Mom, wife, friend and still finding time to be with myself.  This past Saturday I did a 5K with a good friend and finished in just under 30 minutes.  I am hoping to do the Turkey Trot during our visit to Ohio and get my time town to around 27-28 minutes.  Wish me luck!  I am also enjoying being Magnolia's soccer coach and girl scout leader.  Being around all these children is so rewarding and their endless energy and happiness is definitely contagious!

That is about the gist of what is going on in our little corner of the world.  Hope you all are enjoying/living life to the fullest.  Remember to call your loved ones as much as possible and hug/kiss your children whenever they are in arms reach! 

Love The Muse's

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Max is building a boat.....

You know the rain is bad when your almost 3 y.o gets out his tools and starts building a boat all on his own.  Even though he says it is just for him and Mommy.  I could sit here and whine like everyone else does about the weather, but I just can not bring myself to do it.  Yes it sucks that I have been stuck inside for 2 days now with the kids.  We did get out a little though, we put on our rain coats, boots, grabbed our umbrellas and went for a walk.  It's not the usual activity level the kids are used to, but we manage.

Yes it stinks that I have to keep going down in the basement and sucking water up with the shop vac, move things so I can lift the carpets and stack toys high so they do not get moldy, but I am not going to complain about it.

I am not complaining about it because at least I have a home, a family, things to stack.  While this is the worst flooding since Agnes in 1972 (way before my time), the damage really is minimal for us luckily.  I feel so blessed.  In 2011 so many people have lost everything due to flooding, landslides, wildfires, etc.  Surely a little extra water in Lancaster County is tolerable!?!?

Now off to bed I go, I have an early morning date with Maxwell to continue construction on his boat!

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Labor Day Weekend-Family update

What a fun Labor Day Weekend with my lovely family!  We headed up to Parker Dam State Park on Friday in Clearfield County PA.  On the way we stopped at University Park (Penn State Main).  We walked around, bought the kids some shirts and had brick oven pizza and ice cream.  While both kids enjoyed this visit Maxwell seemed to especially!  He keeps talking about Penn State football and going to College!

After our stop, we continued our travels to the cabin.  Once there we unpacked and had a nice relaxing evening by the campfire with a yummy homemade supper.  While around the campfire we did have visitors in the form of 2 skunks, 2 raccoons and 2 groundhogs.  It is amazing how tame these wild animals become when they live in a State Park.  At some point in the evening Michael went to the restroom and I was scouting the woods with the flashlight when I stumbled upon a Bobcat!  How crazy is that?  Since I wasn't sure how aggressive Bobcats are, I made the kids go in the cabin.  :)

On Saturday, I had a lovely trail run followed by a nice long hike with the family.  We came back to Gi-Gi and Pop-Pop's arrival.  The kids were so excited!  We spent Saturday with "The Daub's" at their cabin.  We had another campfire and lot's of yummy food.  It was so nice to catch up with my Aunt's and Uncle's as well as my Cousins!  While having our gathering we were visited by a Native American who was roaming the woods.  This gentlemen had no shoes nor shirt and was rambling gibberish.  Luckily he left as quickly as he came and did not reappear through out the evening.  Michael even got to go on his first motorcycle ride and loved it.  (Thanks Megan.)  The kids had to settle for sitting on the motorcycles, but wanted to join their Dad on a ride.

Sunday represented the annual Schucker Family Reunion.  It was  a really  lovely time with games, family and once again, lot's of food.  Maxwell almost broke his arm in one incident though and almost needed sutured from another incident.  Michael and Nathan tried to enter the annual Woodhick Competition, but were too late.  Something to look forward to them trying next year!  We spent Sunday evening by going to Denny's Beer Barrel and Pub (World Famous for their giant burgers.).  Then we had another lovely fire built by my handsome husband Michael.

Monday, when it was time to go, it finally began pouring the rain that was predicted all weekend.  We got everything packed up and did not get too wet.  The kids played outside in their rain gear all the while and had a blast.  We were fortunate enough to have an uneventful trip home in the downpour.

The end of Labor Day weekend marks the beginning of our busy fall.  We have soccer on Wednesday, Daisy's on Thursday's, soccer on Saturday's and I am still babysitting 5 days a week in addition to Michael being in class 3 nights a week.  Not to mention dance and swim classes are starting soon.  The kids are super excited as Grandpa Bill is coming to visit us this weekend.  They are planning on a Barnstormer's Game Friday night and a F&M football game/tailgating on Saturday.

Here are just a few highlights of our weekend:





Hope everyone else had as lovely a Labor Day Weekend as we did!  I will give a Jillian Michaels update later this week!  Now off to tackle "Mount Washmore".  One of the joys of vacation!  

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

May have forgotten one or two...

After writing my earlier post I began to think.  It isn't fair of me to just poke fun at thin people.  There are plenty of overweight people who should also be addressed.

Let's start with the friend who eats Oreo's everyday's and goes to McDonald's super sizes her meal, orders a diet coke and then says, "Why can't I lose weight?".  To quote Magnolia, "Duh!".  You have got to work hard to lose weight.   I do not even need to address this obviousness anymore.

Then you have your yo-yo dieters who are willing to try any diet.  Atkins, South Beach, Cabbage, etc.  The only way to lose weight is to burn more calories then you consume.  These diets just mess with your metabolism and make it harder for you to lose weight down the road.  I know this from personal experience.  After Maxwell in my attempt to lose the last 10lbs I tried the South Beach diet.  (I was down to a healthy 145 at this time.)  I lost my 10, but then gained 20 and have been stuck their ever since.  Totally messed up my metabolism.

Now there are people out there that try every day.  They watch what they eat, they exercise, etc.  I just spoke with a women the other day who recently lost 20lbs.  She told me for 5 years she just stuck to it and one day the weight just started to come off.  Good for you!  She is an example of sticking with it and eventually getting results.  (Her doctor's told her it must have taken that long to "charge" her metabolism.)  I know nobody wants to hear this, but the healthier you lose the weight the more likely it is to stay off!  When you drop 2+lbs a week you are going to plateau or even worse gain it back!

On a side note, I did my first day of Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30.  Loved it!  She kept it moving so I didn't get bored.  The beginner workouts were challenging enough that I felt like I was being pushed but not over doing it.  I also loved her little motivating speeches she gave through out the video. So far, Jillian is one of those rocking ladies I blogged about earlier today!


Changing it up

I've decided to try and take up blogging again.  With Magnolia leaving me every day for Kindergarten (sniff-sniff), maybe this well help me get through this adjustment period.  I am going to change up my forum slightly though.  I will still blog about my amazing friends/family, but I am going to blog more about myself.  I have decided to get serious about losing 20-30 lbs and thought blogging my journey would be helpful.
In order to start my new blog format properly I need to call out a few types of people in the world that have been making people who have less then perfect body images feel like poo for a long time....I am going to begin by calling out the "Evil Women/Men" of the weight loss  world.  Then I will get on to the rocking ones!

Type One is the "genetically blessed".  You have never, ever been overweight a day in your life.  You may try to count when you were/are pregnant or when you gained 10lbs your freshman year, but you truly have never been overweight.  You walk around complaining about how fat you are and pinching rolls that don't even exist.  You tend to do this in front of people who are obviously quite larger then you.  Really!?!?  Seriously!?!?  You know what that says to even the slightly  overweight person?  It says that you are either fishing for compliments to fill your already big head or that you have no self esteem at all.  (By the way, don't except any reassurance from me.)  Did you ever stop for a minute to think how it makes the overweight person think?  Well please, let me tell you what they are thinking, "Wow!  I would kill to look like him/her.  What are they complaining about?"  Not to mention, "Wow!  How fat do they think I look!?!?"  Get over yourself.

The second person is even slightly more shameful.  You used to be overweight and now are thin.  You are constantly obsessed with losing a few extra pounds and all you ever do it talk about diet and exercise.  Yet again, get over yourself.  While I 100% completely congratulate you on setting  your goals and sticking to them it seems as though you have forgotten what it you used to feel like to have a less then ideal body image.  You are more shameful then the person who has never been overweight because darn it, you know better!  So be quiet and quit complaining about trying to lose 2 lbs!

The "rocking" ones are the ones who don't obsess, don't brag (Really people enough with FB workout updates there are websites where you can specifically post these things and brag to your other neurotic comrades.  I will list some of them later.) and encourage their friends that have less then ideal body images.  They lead by example and offer to be a workout buddy.  The thing I love best about these friends is they tell you they bust their ass to get where they have been and work at it every day.  They are amazing examples of life style change and not diet.  Kudos to these men/women of the world!
Now to wrap this all up.  While I am not morbidly obese by any means, I would really like to get my BMI down.  My mid-section is just too large and I want to be fit so I can chase my great-grandchildren around the yard someday!  :)  I have decided to keep a myfitness pal diary of workout and food.  The link to it is here if you would like to follow me, http://www.myfitnesspal.com/.  My username is AngelaMuse.  I am also going to post my runs on daily mile, dailymile.com, username is Angela M.  I am not going to post to these sites everyday, nor am I going to blog everyday.  My life is too busy.  I will do it 2-3 times a week though.  I have started the Jillian Michaels ripped in 30 and am going to follow the free 30 day diet plan that comes with the DVD.  At the recommendation of Doctor Oz and several health buddies I am also going to try a metabolism booster.  I am starting with the Jillian Michaels one that is $10 at Walmart.
I would love for anyone to join me in this journey.  I would love to see your results and share mine with you.  I feel my blog will be especially beneficial because it is also going to be a "budget health" blog.  I can not afford to eat sushi every night or join a gym.  It is going to be me, my workout dvd's, healthy meals for under $5 and my trusty running shoes that will be hitting the asphalt or my treadmill.
Oh yeah!  Almost forgot!  I am going to be doing a mud run in Quarryville Sept. 17. http://www.bigbashdash.com/.  Please join me and my friends.  I am registered under BarnesMudders team.

Saturday, February 26, 2011

Better Days



I love this song, it's lyrics, the band.....
Fitting right now in my life personally, for our country even our world....

Here are the lyrics...

"Better Days"

And you ask me what I want this year
And I try to make this kind and clear
Just a chance that maybe we'll find better days
Cause I don't need boxes wrapped in strings
And designer love and empty things
Just a chance that maybe we'll find better days

So take these words
And sing out loud
Cause everyone is forgiven now
Cause tonight's the night the world begins again

I need someplace simple where we could live
And something only you can give
And thats faith and trust and peace while we're alive
And the one poor child who saved this world
And there's 10 million more who probably could
If we all just stopped and said a prayer for them

So take these words
And sing out loud
Cause everyone is forgiven now
Cause tonight's the night the world begins again

I wish everyone was loved tonight
And somehow stop this endless fight
Just a chance that maybe we'll find better days

So take these words
And sing out loud
Cause everyone is forgiven now
Cause tonight's the night the world begins again
Cause tonight's the night the world begins again 

Saturday, February 19, 2011

2011 A review so far in pictures.....







So far in 2011 we have.......
  • Celebrated the New Year
  • Gone to the North Museum and the Reading Museum.  
  • Gone to Bounce-U and bowling.  
  • Celebrated Michael's 30th birthday.  
  • Celebrated our Anniversary/Valentine's Day with a weekend in Gettysburg.  
  • Watched our Steelers go to the Super Bowl and lose :( (but hey at least they didn't stink as bad as Fergie and Christina forgetting the words.....)
  • Had lots of play dates and snow days.  
  • Started the registration process for Kindergarten 
  • Got  a treadmill.  
  • Survived Maxwell being in the hospital for 4 days....
  • Spent lots of quality time together

Let's hope the rest of the  year is just as fun filled if not more!  (Minus the illness and Steelers losing the Super Bowl!)  

Friday, February 11, 2011

I am thankful for....

I am thankful for my happy, healthy, intelligent, beautiful children.  Every breath they have, every thought, every moment is a blessing to my own soul.

I am thankful for having the world's greatest husband!  Word's can not describe how much I love him.  He loves me, he is handy around the house, an amazing father, musical, sensitive, etc., etc.  Literally, I could go on and on about how AMAZING my husband is, but if you have met him you already know.....

My BFF Marie!  Sometimes I think she doesn't realize just how amazing of a women she really is.  She is a rock, my solid foundation in sisterhood, motherhood and crazyhood.  :)  The things she can do/knows as a women, as a person, as a wife, as a friend.  She should teach a seminar!!!!

My parent's.  They have always worked hard and sacrificed for our family and never complained.  They are supportive yet not suffering at the same time.  They are amazing grandparent's and love my husband like a son, what more could I ask for....?

My grandparents!  Where do I begin!?!?!  They have some much knowledge and wisdom it is beautiful.  Their stories of how it used to be and how it should be never cease to amaze me!  They are supportive and loving, yet grandparents at the same time!  What a wonderful blend!

My Amy!  While she is far away in Hawaii, I know we still are so in tune to one another!  I am so lucky to have a friend that I can not see for a year and immediately pick up conversation like we spoke an hour ago!  Her soul is pure and beautiful!  Anyone that knows her is touched by her beauty and kindness!

My  mommy friends!  They make me feel normal!  If it weren't for them I would be so alone some days wandering in this crazy world that is motherhood.  They remind me that I am NOT PERFECT and that is OK! They remind me to sit on the floor and play and love my children.  They remind me to enjoy my glass of wine at the end of a long day. They have helped me discover a part of myself that I never new existed!  My Mommy side!

Tonight it struck me, just how lucky I am!  I wanted to write down my thoughts because they were too beautiful to lose!

Friday, February 4, 2011

Catching up with the Muse's-Go Steeler's!!

Can I just say I love having a blog.  I feel it helps me brag about my adorable children and not be annoying.  (If you don't want to hear it....don't read it, lol!)

Anyways........

Maxwell-
He is STILL my little dinosaur.  He growls when he eats, walks around on all fours, chases the cat and most importantly he ROARS!!!!!!!  We are waiting till after Valentine's Day and then we are going to start potty training him!  (They say 27 months is ideal for kids his age.)  He is so smart and progressing every day!  Yesterday I was working on adding and subtracting with Magnolia.  We counted six pretzels and took two away, Max goes "now there is four!"  Put one back and goes, "now there is 5!"  He is definitely going to be smarter then me!  Besides being a dinosaur and boy genius, he loves to run around the house and yell "Go Steelers!"  He also wears something steelers EVERY DAY!  I am doing lots of laundry to keep his Steelers outfits readily available!

Magnolia-
She is growing taller and thinner every day!  Just when I think she has stopped growing, she grows some more!  She loves to be Mommy's helper and has started helping to cook and unload and put away the groceries.  She is super stoked because Daddy and Mommy just bought her a Bride and Groom Barbie and Ken and we signed her up for Spring Soccer!  She is doing well in preschool.  She loves the social aspect of it and is getting better at focusing and learning too!  She loves to read.  We bought her the Tag Book last Christmas and she spends hours in her room reading books and singing.  She totally is a Mini-Mike with her joke telling and laughing before the joke is even finished!

Michael and Angela-
Michael celebrated his 30th birthday last Friday and was pleasantly surprised by his surprise party.  He enjoyed having all of his friends and family together!  He is super excited about the Steelers going to the Super Bowl!  I contemplated having a party for it and then realized we would quickly offend all of our guests with his yelling!  :)

I was fortunate enough last night to go out for dinner and laughs with my BFF Marie!  We checked out Iron Hill Brewery (food not that great, but beer was great!) and finished with a night cap at the Hill Top!

Michael and I are going to be celebrating our Anniversary this weekend in historic Gettysburg!  We have been married now for 5 years and together for 9.  We are planning on doing a Historic Battlefield Tour on a 1930's bus, a private Wine Tour and Tasting at Adams County Winery, going to lot's of nice restaurants (especially J's at the Village) and just relaxing with one another childless!  We are so grateful to my parent's that are watching the kids for us AND having us over for the Super Bowl!

I have made my own little steelers poem that is just slightly plagiarized. I got it from the HuffPost:


“OUR FATHER, Who Art in Pittsburgh­,
Football Be Thy Game.
The Kingdom Come, 6 Super Bowls Won,
On Earth as it is in Heinz Field.
Give us this Day a Super Bowl Victory,
And forgive us our penalties,
As we defeat those who play against us.
But lead us into a victory,
And deliver us a Super Bowl win in Dallas!
A-Ben

GO STEELERS”

Friday, January 28, 2011

What a life!

Happy 30th Birthday to my husband Michael.  I would call you my hubby, but I know how much you hate that!
Wow!  30th birthday....what a monumental celebration.

I remember when we used to talk about your "30th" birthday.  It was a long time ago, (I was 18, you were 21.) but it seems like so many lifetimes have passed since then....

I remember we used to talk about trying to have kids when  you turned 30.  We wanted to start having them when I was 28....funny how the world sometimes decides things for you.  I wonder if the Universe would not have intervened if that would have been the plan we stuck to?  Would we have had the joy of having a Magnolia and Maxwell?  Maybe we would have decided to wait longer, start sooner, or even not be able to have kids...

Anyways, today is about celebrating YOU!  Happy 30th Birthday!  I love you!

Here are somethings to reflect on for your 30th.....




 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


/1981.asp
 1981
 
Headlines in 1981
  • Ronald Reagan is sworn in as the 40th President of the USA
  • The space shuttle Colombia makes it's maiden flight
  • President Reagan is wounded in an assassination attempt outside the Washington Hilton. John W. Hinckley, Jr. 25, shoots the President and three others in the attack
  • IRA hunger striker Bobby Sands dies in the Maze Prison after 65 days without food
  • Francois Mitterand becomes President of France
  • Egyptian President Anwar Sadat is assasinated in Cairo
  • Mark Chapman is sentenced to 20 years to life for the murder of John Lennon
  • Pope John Paul ll survives an assassination attempt in St. Peter's Square
  • Simon And Garfunkel reunite for a concert in Central Park
  • Prince Charles and Lady Diana Spencer marry at St. Pauls Cathedral
  • 52 Iranian hostages are freed after 444 days imprisonment. The release was negotiated by President Carter
  • MTV first airs on August 1, 1981, first song on MTV -- the Buggles' "Video Killed the Radio Star."
  • Sandra Day O'Conner become first Supreme Court Justice
  • A seven week baseball strike, longest in history causes a "split" season
  • John MacEnroe, The "Ugly America" wins his third straight Wimbledon
  • The largest merger in history occurred when DuPont aquires Conoco for 7.9 Billion
  • First test tube baby is born
Top films in 1981
  • Chariots Of Fire
  • Raiders Of The Lost Ark
  • On Golden Pond
  • The French Lieutenants Woman
  • Reds
  • Superman II
Music in 1981
TitleWeeks at No.1
PHYSICAL Olivia Newton-John10
ENDLESS LOVE Diana Ross And Lionel Richie9
BETTE DAVIS EYES Kim Carnes9
KISS ON MY LIST Hall And Oates3
ARTHUR'S THEME (BEST THAT YOU CAN DO) Christopher Cross3
CELEBRATION Kool And The Gang2
9 TO 5 Dolly Parton2
I LOVE A RAINY NIGHT Eddie Rabbitt2
RAPTURE Blondie2
MORNING TRAIN (9 TO 5) Sheena Easton2
JESSIE'S GIRL Rick Springfield2
PRIVATE EYES Hall And Oates2
KEEP ON LOVING YOU Reo Speedwagon1
THE ONE THAT YOU LOVE Air Supply1
MEDLEY Stars On 451
THE TIDE IS HIGH Blondie1
 

Sunday, January 2, 2011

Cats vs. Dogs

Why does everyone think cats are better then dogs?  I am not trying to talk down Dogs.  I love them and hope to have one someday.  However, cats ARE better then them.

I have compiled the following argument.

1.  Cats poop in just a litter box.  I know some people think this is disgusting.  However, I think stepping on poop in you back yard is disgusting.

2.  Vacations.  You put out enough food/water for a week and that's all you do.  You leave, go on vacation.
Dogs you have to drive to a kennel and drop them off. Then you pay a good chunk of $ for someone to watch them.  After being exhausted from travel you have to drive back and pick them.  They smell like a kennel and usually have picked up a barking habit.

3.  Overall cost.  Cats eat less and their vet visits are cheaper.

4.  Dogs are good companions/loyal.  I will give  you that one, but my cat is my best buddy.  She greets me when I get home and she snuggles with me.

5.  Dogs are fun to exercise with/play with.  That's fine and dandy and I agree with you there.  That is until you  have to go out in a hurricane or blizzard to play with the dog/let it poop in the yard to only step in it later.

6.  Cats are more useful as they catch things like mice.  Dogs just chase squirrels outside. I am glad when we get a mouse my cat captures and kills it!

7.  Dogs are better at scaring off burglars.  Very true!  You win one!


That is all.  My husband inspired this blog.  Love you Michael!