Tuesday, August 30, 2011

May have forgotten one or two...

After writing my earlier post I began to think.  It isn't fair of me to just poke fun at thin people.  There are plenty of overweight people who should also be addressed.

Let's start with the friend who eats Oreo's everyday's and goes to McDonald's super sizes her meal, orders a diet coke and then says, "Why can't I lose weight?".  To quote Magnolia, "Duh!".  You have got to work hard to lose weight.   I do not even need to address this obviousness anymore.

Then you have your yo-yo dieters who are willing to try any diet.  Atkins, South Beach, Cabbage, etc.  The only way to lose weight is to burn more calories then you consume.  These diets just mess with your metabolism and make it harder for you to lose weight down the road.  I know this from personal experience.  After Maxwell in my attempt to lose the last 10lbs I tried the South Beach diet.  (I was down to a healthy 145 at this time.)  I lost my 10, but then gained 20 and have been stuck their ever since.  Totally messed up my metabolism.

Now there are people out there that try every day.  They watch what they eat, they exercise, etc.  I just spoke with a women the other day who recently lost 20lbs.  She told me for 5 years she just stuck to it and one day the weight just started to come off.  Good for you!  She is an example of sticking with it and eventually getting results.  (Her doctor's told her it must have taken that long to "charge" her metabolism.)  I know nobody wants to hear this, but the healthier you lose the weight the more likely it is to stay off!  When you drop 2+lbs a week you are going to plateau or even worse gain it back!

On a side note, I did my first day of Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30.  Loved it!  She kept it moving so I didn't get bored.  The beginner workouts were challenging enough that I felt like I was being pushed but not over doing it.  I also loved her little motivating speeches she gave through out the video. So far, Jillian is one of those rocking ladies I blogged about earlier today!


Changing it up

I've decided to try and take up blogging again.  With Magnolia leaving me every day for Kindergarten (sniff-sniff), maybe this well help me get through this adjustment period.  I am going to change up my forum slightly though.  I will still blog about my amazing friends/family, but I am going to blog more about myself.  I have decided to get serious about losing 20-30 lbs and thought blogging my journey would be helpful.
In order to start my new blog format properly I need to call out a few types of people in the world that have been making people who have less then perfect body images feel like poo for a long time....I am going to begin by calling out the "Evil Women/Men" of the weight loss  world.  Then I will get on to the rocking ones!

Type One is the "genetically blessed".  You have never, ever been overweight a day in your life.  You may try to count when you were/are pregnant or when you gained 10lbs your freshman year, but you truly have never been overweight.  You walk around complaining about how fat you are and pinching rolls that don't even exist.  You tend to do this in front of people who are obviously quite larger then you.  Really!?!?  Seriously!?!?  You know what that says to even the slightly  overweight person?  It says that you are either fishing for compliments to fill your already big head or that you have no self esteem at all.  (By the way, don't except any reassurance from me.)  Did you ever stop for a minute to think how it makes the overweight person think?  Well please, let me tell you what they are thinking, "Wow!  I would kill to look like him/her.  What are they complaining about?"  Not to mention, "Wow!  How fat do they think I look!?!?"  Get over yourself.

The second person is even slightly more shameful.  You used to be overweight and now are thin.  You are constantly obsessed with losing a few extra pounds and all you ever do it talk about diet and exercise.  Yet again, get over yourself.  While I 100% completely congratulate you on setting  your goals and sticking to them it seems as though you have forgotten what it you used to feel like to have a less then ideal body image.  You are more shameful then the person who has never been overweight because darn it, you know better!  So be quiet and quit complaining about trying to lose 2 lbs!

The "rocking" ones are the ones who don't obsess, don't brag (Really people enough with FB workout updates there are websites where you can specifically post these things and brag to your other neurotic comrades.  I will list some of them later.) and encourage their friends that have less then ideal body images.  They lead by example and offer to be a workout buddy.  The thing I love best about these friends is they tell you they bust their ass to get where they have been and work at it every day.  They are amazing examples of life style change and not diet.  Kudos to these men/women of the world!
Now to wrap this all up.  While I am not morbidly obese by any means, I would really like to get my BMI down.  My mid-section is just too large and I want to be fit so I can chase my great-grandchildren around the yard someday!  :)  I have decided to keep a myfitness pal diary of workout and food.  The link to it is here if you would like to follow me, http://www.myfitnesspal.com/.  My username is AngelaMuse.  I am also going to post my runs on daily mile, dailymile.com, username is Angela M.  I am not going to post to these sites everyday, nor am I going to blog everyday.  My life is too busy.  I will do it 2-3 times a week though.  I have started the Jillian Michaels ripped in 30 and am going to follow the free 30 day diet plan that comes with the DVD.  At the recommendation of Doctor Oz and several health buddies I am also going to try a metabolism booster.  I am starting with the Jillian Michaels one that is $10 at Walmart.
I would love for anyone to join me in this journey.  I would love to see your results and share mine with you.  I feel my blog will be especially beneficial because it is also going to be a "budget health" blog.  I can not afford to eat sushi every night or join a gym.  It is going to be me, my workout dvd's, healthy meals for under $5 and my trusty running shoes that will be hitting the asphalt or my treadmill.
Oh yeah!  Almost forgot!  I am going to be doing a mud run in Quarryville Sept. 17. http://www.bigbashdash.com/.  Please join me and my friends.  I am registered under BarnesMudders team.